Books We Love for Teens & Tweens

Books We Love for Teens & Tweens
Staff Pick Badge
The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes (A Hunger Games Novel) Cover Image
$27.99
ISBN: 9781338635171
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scholastic Press - May 19th, 2020

A return to the thrills, the excitement, the anticipation... A return to the games.  I'm on the edge of my seat! Recommended by Rob


Staff Pick Badge
The Extremely Inconvenient Adventures of Bronte Mettlestone Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9781338255867
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Arthur A. Levine Books - October 1st, 2019

Magic!  Pirates!  Dragons!  Afternoon tea!  This is my favorite new adventure story.  Great for fans of A Series of Unfortunate Events and Harry Potter. Recommended by Molly


Staff Pick Badge
On the Horizon Cover Image
By Lois Lowry, Kenard Pak (Illustrator)
$16.99
ISBN: 9780358129400
Availability: In Stock in Our Warehouse
Published: HMH Books for Young Readers - April 7th, 2020

These are poems about history and heroism, love and loss, humanity, and war. These are the lives of sailors at Pearl Harbor and civilians at Hiroshima during the events that changed the world. Beautifully Heartbreaking and Amazing Uplifting. Recommended by Rob


Staff Pick Badge
The Shadow Arts Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780451478610
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Viking Books for Young Readers - March 3rd, 2020

When a dear friend is in trouble, Alex's grandfather knows exactly who to ask for help. The two travel the world together fighting evil robots and shadowy super-villains and learning along the way that grandfathers and grandsons make the best heroic teams. A perfect book for curious children with thirst for adventure! Recommended by Rob


Staff Pick Badge
Life: The First Four Billion Years: The Story of Life from the Big Bang to the Evolution of Humans Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9781536204209
Availability: Backordered
Published: Candlewick Studio - September 10th, 2019

Amazing art! An amazing trip through time! Jenkins and Baker-Smith will thrill and excite not just kids, but readers of all ages. Recommended by Rob


Staff Pick Badge
White Bird: A Wonder Story Cover Image
$24.99
ISBN: 9780525645535
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - October 1st, 2019

White Bird is beautifully written and beautifully illustrated and profoundly moving. A story of courage and kindness that reaches across time to remind us that even one person can make a difference. A story that has touched me like no other. Vive l'humanite! Recommended by Jane


CatStronauts: Mission Moon Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780316307451
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - April 18th, 2017

CatStronauts, you are needed!


Staff Pick Badge
The Bone Houses Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316418416
Availability: In Stock in Our Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - September 24th, 2019

This is the most original, mythical-magical, undead story I have ever read. I mean, there's a dead goat -- and you'regoing to fall in love with her. The feisty, axe-swinging gravedigger's daughter found a place in my heart, too. Recommended by Alena 

Bone Houses is like Zombies in Tolkien-Land, except our hero is a fearless young woman who just wants to do her job, provide for her family, and protect her village. Her companion is a courageous young mapmaker with a mystery of his own. Mythical & thrilling with surprises that will make you gasp! This is a not a book to pick up if you plan on sleeping! Recommended by Jane


Staff Pick Badge
Dear Sweet Pea Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9780062473073
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - October 1st, 2019

Sweet Pea is the best! Julie Murphy is a jolly, wise, loving master storyteller. Her characters are some of my best friends. Enjoy!  (Great book to read as a family, too.) Recommended by Alena


Staff Pick Badge
Sorcery of Thorns Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481497619
Availability: In Stock in Our Warehouse
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - June 4th, 2019

Fantasy, mystery, romance, and horror blend together perfectly in this atmospheric adventure. If you've ever wished you could visit Hogwarts Library (and its restricted section!) this is the book for you. Recommended by Molly


Staff Pick Badge
Stronger, Faster, and More Beautiful Cover Image
$18.99
ISBN: 9780525580959
Availability: In Stock in Our Warehouse
Published: Delacorte Press - December 4th, 2018

This set of interconnected short stories ask the question "What makes us human?" and explores how far we can push our boundaries before we become something else entirely. Recommended by Molly


Staff Pick Badge
Nocturna Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9780062842749
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Balzer + Bray - March 3rd, 2020

Take one foul-mouthed girl with her thieving ways and one reluctant prince with his magical incantations -- mix them with disasters -- and you have a recipe for a book you'll quickly devour. Recommended by Jeanette


Staff Pick Badge
What Makes Girls Sick and Tired Cover Image
$13.95
ISBN: 9781772600964
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Second Story Press - March 18th, 2019

This book says it all! I only regret it wasn't available when I was a young adult. Recommended by Jeanette


Staff Pick Badge
The Boy, the Bird & the Coffin Maker Cover Image
By Matilda Woods, Anuska Allepuz (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780525515234
Availability: In Stock in Our Warehouse
Published: Puffin Books - May 28th, 2019

This is a near-perfect, magical fable that should be a new classic. I loved it! Recommended by Christie.


Staff Pick Badge
The Cold Is in Her Bones Cover Image
$11.99
ISBN: 9781481488457
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Margaret K. McElderry Books - January 21st, 2020

This sharp, feminist fantasy novel follows Milla as she struggles with the limitations of her family and her yearnings to see more of the world. But there are dark demons out there and when they steal away her only friend, Milla's fears and desires are put to the test. I was swept away by this marvelous story of conformity, sisterhood, betrayal and forgiveness. Recommended by Molly


Staff Pick Badge
The Loneliest Girl in the Universe Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062660268
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperTeen - May 14th, 2019

This one is an anxious, fast-paced thriller about Romy, a teen surviving alone on a spaceship after a terrible accident kills the crew. When her long-distance therapist on Earth tells her that another is coming to join her, Romy is thrilled. But soon she starts receiving messages from an alarming new government on Earth, all of Romy's skills -- and fears -- will be put to the test! Recommended by Molly


Staff Pick Badge
The Adventures of a Girl Called Bicycle Cover Image
$8.99
ISBN: 9780823445738
Availability: In Stock in Our Warehouse
Published: Margaret Ferguson Books - April 7th, 2020

This book promises to give you one heck of a good ride (and a fun read too.) Recommended by Jeanette


Staff Pick Badge
Endling #1: The Last Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9780062335548
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: HarperCollins - March 5th, 2019

Byx is the best!!! She's a young dairne -- looks like a dog, but stands upright, talks, has opposable thumbs and knows if someone is lying. She's the last of her kind ... or perhaps not. Her quest is for all endangered species the ruling humans want to wipe out. I love this 1st book in a new series! Recommended by Alena


Staff Pick Badge
Puddin' (Dumplin' #2) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780062418395
Availability: In Stock in Our Warehouse
Published: Balzer + Bray - May 7th, 2019

Julie Murphy is my hero!!! She writes books I love to read that are intelligent, fun, and and full of current issues for real people. Her books are uplifting without being stupid. Puddin' is her latest and it is FANTASTIC!!!  Recommended by Alena


Staff Pick Badge
The Creature of the Pines (The Unicorn Rescue Society #1) Cover Image
By Adam Gidwitz, Hatem Aly (Illustrator)
$7.99
ISBN: 9780735231726
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Puffin Books - August 6th, 2019

Two new friends, an eccentric teacher, and a mysterious creature in the woods -- what's not to like? A fun fast-paced, smart and humorous read, great for anyone who likes nature, adventure, magical creatures, and secret societies. Recommended by Molly


Staff Pick Badge
The Witch Boy Cover Image
$12.99
ISBN: 9781338089516
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - October 31st, 2017

I loved this story! A magical family, new friendships, learning to be yourself, and a sneaky tricky dragon! Do yourself a favor: read it! Recommended by Molly


Staff Pick Badge
Wishtree Cover Image
$16.99
ISBN: 9781250043221
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Feiwel & Friends - September 26th, 2017

For everyone whoever loved a tree. Recommended by Alena.


Staff Pick Badge
A Whisper of Horses Cover Image
$7.99
ISBN: 9781250093967
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Square Fish - July 3rd, 2018

In a future without horses or blue skies, a girl named Serendipity and a boy named Tab escape from their walled city. In a world where storytellers lead rebellions, Serendipity adventures toward her dream of seeing the last horses and finds freedom. Skin-Tingly written! (Check out the author bio -- what a life!) Recommended by Alena


Staff Pick Badge
Illusive Cover Image
$19.99
ISBN: 9780316254595
Availability: In Stock in Our Warehouse
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - June 16th, 2015

All of us here at Gallery Bookshop love Illusive!! And (this is the best part), since it is the first of a series, there will be more to come. Lucky for us, we won't have to wait long for the sequel. You won't want to miss this series; perfect summer read, perfect in the fog by the fire read, perfect read!