The Hearts We Sold (Hardcover)

Staff Pick Logo
The Hearts We Sold Cover Image
$17.99
On Our Shelves Now
1 on hand, as of Dec 14 11:40am
(juv young adult)

Staff Reviews


This book is worth selling your heart over. If you read this book be ready to cry, laugh, weep, sob, wail, and fall in love with the characters. This book is heartbreaking and beautifully written. Recommended by Zoe  

P.S. Jane loved it too -- Jonathan Carroll-esque with a dash of Stephen King and a pinch of Buffy the Vampire Slayer. And very unputdownable!

— From Books We Love for Teens & Tweens

Description


An intoxicating blend of fantasy, horror, and romance--a Faustian fable perfect for fans of Holly Black, and Stranger Things.

Dee Moreno is out of options. Her home life sucks (to put it mildly), and she's about to get booted from her boarding school--the only place she's ever felt free--for lack of funds. But this is a world where demons exist, and the demons are there to make deals: one human body part in exchange for one wish come true.

The demon who Dee approaches doesn't trade in the usual arms and legs, however. He's only interested in her heart. And what comes after Dee makes her deal is a nightmare far bigger, far more monstrous than anything she ever could have imagined. Reality is turned on its head, and Dee has only her fellow "heartless," the charming but secretive James Lancer, to keep her grounded. As something like love grows between them amid an otherworldly threat, Dee begins to wonder: Can she give James her heart when it's no longer hers to give?

In The Hearts We Sold, demons can be outwitted, hearts can be reclaimed, monsters can be fought, and love isn't impossible. This book will steal your heart and break it, and leave you begging for more.


About the Author


Emily Lloyd-Jones grew up on a vineyard in rural Oregon, where she played in evergreen forests and learned to fear sheep. After graduating from Western Oregon University with an English degree, she enrolled in the publishing program at Rosemont College just outside of Philadelphia. She currently resides in Northern California, working in a bookstore by day and writing by night.

Praise For…


Praise for The Hearts We Sold:
* "Beautifully written and elegantly characterized, this is a thoughtful, melancholy tale of love and redemption, magic and choice. Lloyd-Jones tracks Dee's Faustian journey without ever falling out of step, and the story itself will ensnare readers as surely as any bargain."—Booklist (starred review)

"The slowly revealed lore of the demons coupled with Dee's adventures make for a whirlwind of a page-turner. Readers will devour this romantic, Faustian fable. A dark fantasy brimming with passion and peril."
Kirkus Reviews

"One of those unassuming reads that quietly sneaks up on you--and before you know it you've been blindsided by how awesome it is... The message in the philosophical prose is understated, but powerful, as is the surprise ending. With wonderfully developed characters, an engaging storyline and a romance that will steal readers' hearts, The Hearts We Sold is a story that's easy to love."—Romantic Times

"Lloyd-Jones's take on the Faustian myth will keep readers engaged. A broad array of well-developed characters will intrigue readers as the plot advances and curves. Offers character depth and diversity often lacking in the fantasy genre."—SLJ

"The characters are spunky and compassionate, and teen readers will love the storyline."—School Library Connection

"A completely original story that shatters the boundaries of YA fiction. Magic, mystery, and intrigue, paired with Jones's devilish story-telling ability, will bind readers to The Hearts We Sold until the final explosive ending."
Lindsay Cummings, #1 New York Times bestselling author of Zenith and The Murder Complex

"An inventive, heart-wrenching thrill ride."—Kim Liggett, author of Blood and Salt

"With its lush, Lovecraftian worldbuilding and a heroine as tough as she is damaged, The Hearts We Sold sucked me in and held me captive. I finished it in one sitting!"—Gretchen McNeil, author of Ten and the Don't Get Mad series

Praise for Illusive and Deceptive:
*"Boasting a complex plot, heart-stopping bursts of action, and questions regarding human nature, Lloyd-Jones' thought-provoking, multifaceted narrative neatly sidesteps categorization as just another superhero or dystopian novel--though fans of both will be drawn to the material and be pleasantly surprised. An impressive debut guaranteed to disappear from the shelves before your very eyes."
Booklist (starred review)

"[Entertaining] and unpredictable. An action-packed adventure with a charming criminal crew."
Kirkus

"Lloyd-Jones deftly weaves several plot strands, using flashbacks to impart background information. Snappy dialogue and harrowing action scenes move the twisting plot along and maintain suspense throughout...A must-read for fans of intrigue and superpowered villains."
SLJ


Product Details
ISBN: 9780316314596
ISBN-10: 0316314595
Publisher: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers
Publication Date: August 8th, 2017
Pages: 400
Language: English