30 Second Book Reviews 2018

Holiday Gift Picks 2018

Order buttons appear below the list!

Some items are not available online. If there's no button, call us at 707.937.2665 to order!

 

FOR SWEETIES

  • The Little Love Book

  • Paris, City of Lights Puzzle

  • Libro.fm subscription and SleepPhones

 

FOR SIBLINGS, BESTIES & BUDDIES

  • Shadow World game

  • The Collapsing Empire

  • Theory of Bastards

 

FOR PARENTS & GRANDPARENTS

  • California Field Atlas

  • The Travelling Cat Chronicles

  • The Library Book

 

FOR IN-LAWS & COWORKERS

  • The Princess Bride (deluxe ed)

  • Beautiful Souls

  • Call Them By Their Names

 

FOR TEENS & TWEENS

  • Stranger Things

  • Inkling

  • Hey, Kiddo

 

FOR LITTLE ONES

  • The Broken Ornament

  • The Antlered Ship

  • Lost Words

 

The Shadow World: A Sci-Fi Storytelling Card Game (Magical Myrioramas) Cover Image
By Shan Jiang (Illustrator)
$19.99
ISBN: 9781786273147
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Laurence King Publishing - August 14th, 2018

Fire your imagination with these fun storytelling cards. Reviving the Victorian craze for "myrioramas," the 20 picture cards can be placed in any order to create seamless scenes. Almost infinite combinations of cards provide endless storyscaping possibilities.


The Collapsing Empire (The Interdependency #1) Cover Image
$9.99
ISBN: 9780765388902
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Tor Science Fiction - January 2nd, 2018

*2018 LOCUS AWARD WINNER OF BEST SCIENCE FICTION NOVEL*
*2018 HUGO AWARD FINALIST FOR BEST NOVEL*

“John Scalzi is the most entertaining, accessible writer working in SF today.” —Joe Hill, author of The Fireman


Theory of Bastards Cover Image
$18.00
ISBN: 9781609454371
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Europa Editions - April 24th, 2018

One of The Washington Post's 50 Notable Works of fiction in 2018


Staff Pick Logo
The California Field Atlas Cover Image
$45.00
ISBN: 9781597144025
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Heyday Books - September 5th, 2017

This lavishly illustrated atlas takes readers off the beaten path and outside normal conceptions of California, revealing its myriad ecologies, topographies, and histories in exquisite maps and trail paintings.


Staff Pick Logo
The Travelling Cat Chronicles Cover Image
By Hiro Arikawa, Philip Gabriel (Translated by)
$20.00
ISBN: 9780451491336
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Berkley - October 23rd, 2018

On New York Post's Required Reading List


The Library Book Cover Image
$28.00
ISBN: 9781476740188
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Simon & Schuster - October 16th, 2018

A REESE WITHERSPOON x HELLO SUNSHINE BOOK CLUB PICK

A WASHINGTON POST TOP 10 BOOK OF THE YEAR * A NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER and NEW YORK TIMES NOTABLE BOOK OF 2018

“A constant pleasure to read…Everybody who loves books should check out The Library Book.” —The Washington Post
<


The Princess Bride Deluxe Edition HC: S. Morgenstern's Classic Tale of True Love and High Adventure Cover Image
$35.00
ISBN: 9781328948854
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Houghton Mifflin Harcourt - October 10th, 2017

William Goldman’s beloved story of Buttercup, Westley, and their fellow adventurers is now available in a beautifully illustrated deluxe edition  
 
This tale of true love, high adventure, pirates, princesses, giants, miracles, fencing, and a frightening assortment of wild beasts, as depicted in the 1987 film directed by Rob Reiner and starring Fre


Beautiful Souls: The Courage and Conscience of Ordinary People in Extraordinary Times Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781250024084
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Picador - February 5th, 2013

"A fascinating study in the better angels of our nature."—George Packer, The New Yorker

A New York Times Book Review Editors' Choice


Call Them by Their True Names: American Crises (and Essays) Cover Image
$15.95
ISBN: 9781608469468
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Haymarket Books - September 4th, 2018

National Book Award Longlist Kirkus Prize Finalist

"Rebecca Solnit is essential feminist reading." --The New Republic

"Solnit's exquisite essays move between the political and the personal, the intellectual and the earthy." --Elle


Stranger Things: Worlds Turned Upside Down: The Official Behind-the-Scenes Companion Cover Image
By Gina McIntyre, Matt Duffer (Foreword by), Ross Duffer (Foreword by)
$36.00
ISBN: 9781984817426
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Del Rey - October 30th, 2018

NEW YORK TIMES BESTSELLER • The official behind-the-scenes companion guide to the first two seasons and beyond, featuring exclusive color photos and stunning concept art.

Note: This book has been designed to mimic a used book. The marks, scuffs, and tears on the cover and pages are an intentional design element.


Inkling Cover Image
By Kenneth Oppel, Sydney Smith (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781524772819
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Knopf Books for Young Readers - November 6th, 2018

"Astounding"—New York Times Book Review

A brilliantly funny story about how a little ink splot changes a family forever. Perfect for those who love Hoot, Holes, or Frindle and sure to be a hit with kids everywhere!


Hey, Kiddo (National Book Award Finalist) Cover Image
$14.99
ISBN: 9780545902489
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Graphix - October 9th, 2018

A National Book Award Finalist!
 

In kindergarten, Jarrett Krosoczka's teacher asks him to draw his family, with a mommy and a daddy. But Jarrett's family is much more complicated than that. His mom is an addict, in and out of rehab, and in and out of Jarrett's life. His father is a mystery -- Jarrett doesn't know where to find him, or even what his name is.


The Broken Ornament Cover Image
By Tony DiTerlizzi, Tony DiTerlizzi (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781416939764
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Simon & Schuster Books for Young Readers - September 18th, 2018

When a beloved ornament breaks, will it ruin the holidays or save them? New York Times bestselling author and Caldecott Honor–winning illustrator Tony DiTerlizzi offers a brand-new Christmas story that is sure to be a holiday classic.

Jack wants this to be the best Christmas ever, and he knows just how to make it happen…

More!


The Antlered Ship Cover Image
By Dashka Slater, Terry Fan (Illustrator), Eric Fan (Illustrator)
$17.99
ISBN: 9781481451604
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Beach Lane Books - September 12th, 2017

Parents’ Choice Recommended

An inquisitive fox sets off on a seafaring voyage with a crew of deer and pigeons in this enchanting tale of friendship and adventure.

Marco the fox has a lot of questions, like: how deep does the sun go when it sinks into the sea? And why do birds have such lizardy feet? But none of the other foxes share his curiosity.


The Lost Words Cover Image
By Robert MacFarlane, Jackie Morris (Illustrator)
$35.00
ISBN: 9781487005382
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Anansi International - October 2nd, 2018

In 2007, when a new edition of the Oxford Junior Dictionary -- widely used in schools around the world -- was published, a sharp-eyed reader soon noticed that around forty common words concerning nature had been dropped. Apparently they were no longer being used enough by children to merit their place in the dictionary.