Gallery Bookshop Weekly Bestsellers

Gallery Bookshop Bestsellers for the Week of

August 1st through August 8th

Golden State 2017: The Best New Writing from California Cover Image
By Lisa Locascio (Editor)
$18.50
ISBN: 9781944853235
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Outpost19 - June 6th, 2017

With incredibly diverse perspectives on life in The Golden State, novelist and critic Lisa Locascio brings together short fiction and nonfiction from acclaimed writers as well as new voices from under-explored environs. Our fourth annual anthology, celebrated in literary communities across the state.


Should I Still Wish: A Memoir Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780803295223
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: University of Nebraska Press - January 2017

In this candid and moving memoir, John W. Evans articulates the complicated joys of falling in love again as a young widower. Though heartbroken after his wife's violent death, Evans realizes that he cannot remain inconsolable and adrift, living with his in-laws in Indiana. Motivated by a small red X on a map, Evans musters the courage for a cross-country trip.


Staff Pick Logo
The Oracle of Stamboul Cover Image
$13.99
ISBN: 9780062012104
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Harper Perennial - August 30th, 2011

Set in the heart of the exotic Ottoman Empire during the first years of its chaotic decline, Michael David Lukas' elegantly crafted, utterly enchanting debut novel follows a gifted young girl who dares to charm a sultan--and change the course of history, for the empire and the world.


Staff Pick Logo
The Hearts We Sold Cover Image
$17.99
ISBN: 9780316314596
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Little, Brown Books for Young Readers - August 8th, 2017


A thrilling blend of sci-fi, paranormal horror, and romance-perfect for fans of Holly Black and Leigh Bardugo


Staff Pick Logo
Young Widower Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780803249523
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: University of Nebraska Press - March 2014

John W. Evans was twenty-nine years old and his wife, Katie, was thirty. They had met in the Peace Corps in Bangladesh, taught in Chicago, studied in Miami, and were working for a year in Romania when they set off with friends to hike into the Carpathian Mountains. In an instant their life together was shattered. Katie became separated from the group.


Staff Pick Logo
All the Light We Cannot See Cover Image
$17.00
ISBN: 9781501173219
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Scribner Book Company - April 4th, 2017

Winner of the Pulitzer Prize, a New York Times Book Review Top Ten Book, National Book Award finalist, more than two and a half years on the New York Times bestseller list


Off Mike: A Memoir of Talk Radio and Literary Life Cover Image
$16.95
ISBN: 9780804763370
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Stanford University Press - March 2009

KQED Radio's Michael Krasny is one of the country's leading interviewers of literary luminaries, a maestro for educated listeners who prefer their discourse high and civil. He is a writer's interviewer.

But it didn't start out that way.


Shaping the Sonoma-Mendocino Coast: Exploring the Coastal Geology of Northern California Cover Image
$19.95
ISBN: 9780998510606
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: River Beach Press - February 14th, 2017

The Gardener and the Carpenter: What the New Science of Child Development Tells Us about the Relationship Between Parents and Children Cover Image
$26.00
ISBN: 9780374229702
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: Farrar, Straus and Giroux - August 9th, 2016

One of the world's leading child psychologists shatters the myth of "good parenting"


Because I Wanted to Write You a Pop Song: Stories Cover Image
$12.00
ISBN: 9780990903574
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Split Lip Press - June 3rd, 2016

Staff Pick Logo
My Grandmother Asked Me to Tell You She's Sorry Cover Image
$16.00
ISBN: 9781501115073
Availability: On Our Shelves Now
Published: Washington Square Press - April 5th, 2016

A charming, warmhearted novel from the author of the New York Times bestseller A Man Called Ove.


Astrophysics for People in a Hurry Cover Image
$18.95
ISBN: 9780393609394
Availability: Usually Ships in 1-5 Days
Published: W. W. Norton & Company - May 2nd, 2017

What is the nature of space and time? How do we fit within the universe? How does the universe fit within us? There's no better guide through these mind-expanding questions than acclaimed astrophysicist and best-selling author Neil deGrasse Tyson.